Beached!

“If the word “beach” makes you think of “beached”, you must get your head examined!” exclaimed the lady who in the first place was responsible for my thinking up the word “beached” when I saw the daily post prompt “beach.”

The fact that she must watch me surreptitiously is one of the reasons why I feel beached in a house that’s at least a thousand miles away from any beach.

“And why?” I ask my jailor, swiveling my chair to face her, “why do you think that I shouldn’t have thought of the word “beached”?”

“Because “beached” means “stranded”, “marooned”, “wrecked”, “abandoned”, “left high and dry!”

I get up with the speed of light, find my wallet and my car-keys, and rush out. She’s still right behind me. At the door, I turn. Her face morphs into an island with a single palm tree, under which I see myself, watching the wreckage of the ship that I used to call my life; and her nose twists itself and transforms into a question mark. She still wants to know.

“Because of you,” I answer, ducking and scooting out of the door, and the vase crashes against the wall.

I run down the stairs, skipping alternate steps, get into the car, and start the car.

It doesn’t start.

I try again.

Instinctively I look up and see her watching me triumphantly. Suddenly and miraculously, I acquire the ability to lip-read.

 

I think you know what I read.

Written in response to today’s prompt “Beach.”

About Anand

Parodist, Humorist, Caricaturist, Nerd.
This entry was posted in Parody, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Beached!

  1. didn’t see for long, how are you, Anand?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. puppy1952 says:

    I loved this piece – very clever and funny.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Intriguing, loved the humor in it!
    Sorry about your loss. Glad to have you come back to blogging. I was on a writing hiatus myself for a month and just returns to bloggerdom so I can understand how it feels. Take care my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Did the door hit your backside? 😄😄

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Aww just saw the comments, so sorry about your loss. Take it easy.

    Like

  6. Yes, sorry Anand about your loss. I was wondering about your abscence but figured work must have been keeping you busy. But to lose someone… I’mvery saddened om your behalf. I hope that getting back to writing and rejoining the blogging community, will help ease some of your pain. Blessings, my friend. 🙂 Oh, and your take on beach was fantastic!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anand says:

      Thanks Meg. I am glad you enjoyed my being beached. One beached whale that can make someone smile is worth ten politicians. (Don’t ask where that came from…)

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Judy Martin says:

    Hi Anand. So sorry to hear about your loss. Welcome back, you were missed and you have not lost your humorous touch either! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Olive Ole says:

    Wecome back Anand! Very happy to see you! Very sorry for your loss! Great take on this prompt!

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts are those gems that make my posts glitter. Leave one behind.

