A Caricature for my Avatar – The Mythological Me in the era of Mahabharata.

I realized I needed an avatar, especially if I didn’t want other bloggers to assume that I were a bot. So I blew the dust off my old caricature-collections, and literally coughed up an old self-caricature of mine. This was done at a time when I still was my original, slightly younger, but happily narcissistic self. You can see my bulging pectorals, my awesome silk lungi, and the beautiful angavastram (a Sangam of North and South?) – all of them equally fictional. So I request ladies not to swoon over the adorable Adonis you see in the image.

The hair, however dramatic it might look, is non-fiction as is rest of my face.

 

Indian Mythological character caricature portrait - a self portrait by Indian caricaturist Anand.

As you can tell, I am smitten by the rich Indian History, and I absolutely revel in painting the dresses and the jewelry of those times. Not that I am any less taken in by the pomp and show of Bollywood, or by the humorous rendition of the Indian society in Kapil Sharma‘s Comedy Nights with Kapil.

If you have never seen or heard about Kapil’s show, there’s a 99% chance that you aren’t an Indian. If you are not, you may possibly have heard about “The Kumars at No. 42“. In my opinion, Kapil’s show is the more humorous, more raucous, more colorful, and…well, more Indian version of it. It does get slightly repetitive at times – when “Dadi” or Gram who is actually a man, hounds the male celebrities to plant a resounding smmmmmooooochhhhrrr….. on their on the faces, or when “Bua” or Aunt (played by a lovely middle-aged woman,) who is a spinster, flirts with the eligible bachelors in a hope to find her groom – but all in all, Kapil’s show is cool – and if I wore hats (you can see that I don’t,) I doff at least one of them to him.

I am talking about Kapil, because I’ll be posting his caricature soon. I painted it in July…so it’s a recent one.

More about Comedy Knights in the next post. If you like my art and posts, do click/tap on the Follow Blog button in the right margin.

 

About Anand

Parodist, Humorist, Caricaturist, Nerd.
This entry was posted in Bollywood Caricatures, Historical Caricatures, humor, Indian Caricatures, Indian TV Actor Caricatures and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Your thoughts are those gems that make my posts glitter. Leave one behind.

